Per Bastemhet

Personal Update

with 7 comments

So, a while back I made a Spiritual To-Do List in hopes of getting myself organized and trying to do more of the spiritual stuff that I wanted to do.  However, life had other plans for me.  Two days later I got sick for about a week, a couple weeks pass by and then I´m sick yet again.  I was doing distance reiki healing and my paper with my symbols mysteriously disappears.  Shouldn´t be a problem, you´re supposed to memorize them, right?  Wrong.  The distance symbol is a Japanese kanji that has 22 strokes in specific directions.  I did not remember that one and thus, the reiki giving got cut off.  I still can´t find that paper.  But I could just look on the internet, right?  Actually, the internet got cut off the next day because my husband forgot to pay the bill, and by the time it was back I lost all the spoons to do so (and I think I was getting sick again at this time).  So yeah, my life keeps getting derailed and I am floundering to keep up.  I have very few spoons and spend a lot of them trying to take care of myself and my sick baby daughter.

I received the Nefertari´s Tarot finally, and I haven´t even worked with them yet due to being smacked with fever.  I did get a chance to open and look at them and I have to say I´m somewhat disappointed.  Yes, the gold foil is shiny and pretty, but what pisses me off is that on every card there is a gold swirl pattern on the background, and if there aren´t a lot of other basic images then everything gets swallowed up in the shiny.  It´s very distracting.  Shouldn´t be a problem for veteran card readers who have the symbolism memorized already, but it might be a problem for me who hasn´t worked with tarot in a long time.  This is what I get for making expensive impulse buys.  I´m going to try and use them anyway a bit to see if I can work with them, but really nothing could´ve prepared me for the shiny besides opening the package and actually seeing them.  Cameras cannot capture the actual shiny.

So, cleaning the house?  Again, no spoons, to the point that I´m considering asking someone to come help clean a bit because I am desperate and tired, which is ridiculous because I don´t make a ton of money and I´m even embarrassed to let strangers into my house even if they´re there to clean it for the state it´s in.  I don´t care about the astral.  I don´t care about dream travel.  I find that doing reiki for people when I´m sick tends to make my own sickness bounce back with more force because I´m shit at shielding and grounding.

Just…ugh, generally.  I think I´m going to make myself a hot chocolate and start another book instead of cleaning the huge pile of dirty dishes in my kitchen.  It´s just one of those days.  Maybe I´ll do a divination to see if the deck I bought wants to work with me.  If not, another poor purchase to add to the list.

Written by Bastemhet

January 18, 2013 at 11:10 am

Posted in daily life

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’ve having such a rough time of it. It never rains, but it pours, eh? :<
    I've heard good things about the Nef tarot- so hopefully the foil won't be too big of a deal. I've heard as well that cameras can't capture the shiny properly.
    To more spoons in the future!

    von186

    January 19, 2013 at 3:25 am

    • Yes, seems like yucky things tend to come on heavy for me, but then again it could just be a question of personal orientation. I can be pretty pessimistic. :p

      I don’t dislike them. I looked at them under different lighting and it was better. I was thinking of doing the 78 days of tarot project from Dusken’s blog but the thing is the cards are loosely based on the Rider Waite system but the symbolism can be very different at times. I’m having a hard time figuring out just how much “traditional” symbolism I can use to interpret them and how much will be pure invention based on the disparate imagery. Yarrg.

      Bastemhet

      January 19, 2013 at 11:14 am

      • I almost never rely entirely on traditional symbolism. I find that with my own cards (which are based on RW), I look at them, and if I can figure things out just by what I’m seeing- I go with that first. If, after that, I still am not sure- then I will pull out the book and read a bit more indepth. :3 Court cards are the cards I suck the hardest with.

        von186

        January 19, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      • My prob is that some of the imagery isn’t very clear and the LWB that comes with them doesn’t do much to clear up the confusion, giving the cards meaning that aren’t readily apparent. For example I’m stuck on the fool card: a picture of a young boy that looks like he’s pissed off at this cat for jumping on him. Wtf?

        Then the Knight cards are just horses…I mean, shouldn’t they be camels or something? I dunno. There is no other book to describe the meanings, just the LWB.

        Bastemhet

        January 19, 2013 at 6:32 pm

      • Maybe looking at the traditional RW meanings could be helpful?

        Some of that does seem a little weird x.x;;; hmm. I know there are a few others who use that deck. Maybe if you ask around on some of the forums, someone else can help you to explore the imagery better?

        One day, I’m gonna make my own deck, so that I don’t have to rely on other’s meanings and symbols 😛 So much of it just doesn’t make sense.

        von186

        January 19, 2013 at 6:38 pm

      • Good idea on asking around in the forums. I think I’ll do that to kick start the project…if I do the project. lol

        I wanted to make my own deck too, but more of an oracle thing using the myths similar in the way that you see the evolution of the fool throughout the major arcana. However, you know, pipe dreams and whatnot. :p Good luck on if you ever get around to it.

        Bastemhet

        January 19, 2013 at 7:19 pm

  2. Reblogged this on The Darkness in the Light.

    thefirstdark

    January 19, 2013 at 10:22 pm


Leave a Reply

