Per Bastemhet

Baths and Purity

with 5 comments

Not necessarily a real post, but just a thought.  One of the reasons I don´t commit to a daily ritual is the whole purity issue.  I don´t think there´s anything wrong with it, and it´s fitting for it to be a requirement in the Senut ritual (Kemetic Orthodox daily ritual).  Having to commit to taking a shower every time I want to do a ritual is fairly difficult, if only because I have a baby to take care of, and even though there are people around most of the time who don´t mind grabbing her for a little bit, I can´t justify the almost full house just to do religious things when I have to be preparing a bottle or cleaning a poopy cloth diaper.  

This is where Purity Wipes would come in handy.  It´s the lazy layman´s answer to ritual purity in a pinch!  They would be like diaper wipes or makeup wipes, but made with natron for all your purity needs!  How awesome would that be?  Just a quick swipe, and you´d be ready to get down to ritual business!  

D:

Anyway, speaking of ritual cleanliness, you can find some Spiritual Baths handmade to order from the Nisut of House of Netjer herself over here until the end of the week if you want yours in time for Wep Ronpet, if you´re celebrating any time soon.  I´d love one for myself, but money being tight right now, it´s not an option for me.  

Written by Bastemhet

July 12, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve heard of someone putting natron water in a spray bottle.

    helmsinepu

    July 12, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  2. I was going to say exactly what Helms said- I used to crush up natron, mix it in water, and put it in a spray bottle. I’d stand there and spray myself down and was good to go.

    Plenty of Shemsu don’t have the time for a shower or bath before every Senut. Lots of them have found ways to work around this issue- so seems to me that you might be able to rig up some sort of alternative for showering every day 🙂

    von186

    July 15, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  3. I love the idea of the wipes and also the spray bottle. In fact i think a trip to the local £1 store in in order to pick up some spray bottles lol. I may also try buying a pack of natural wipes in one of those cylinder things and let them soak in Natron water for a while.

    picklewalsh

    July 26, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    • Being a mom, I can´t deny the utility of wipes! I would just be careful about what they contain; many cleaning products have ammonia which is impure.

      Bastemhet

      July 28, 2012 at 8:21 am


Leave a Reply

