Per Bastemhet

Introducing: My Anubis Oracle Deck

with 15 comments

I found out about this oracle deck while looking around the KIN forums.  I’ve always been interested in tarot card reading and had worked with a few, namely the Rider-Waite deck (just didn’t speak to me) and the Osho Zen oracle deck (not that into Zen, so it didn’t exactly mesh well with me either), but was looking for something that had more to do with my religious lens of choice.  I had used the oracle online with pretty accurate results, so I decided to buy the deck to have a physical copy for myself.  Now, I’m not really into shamanism (read: not at all) so there is a lot of “extra stuff” in these cards, some of it borderline fluffy.  There is a lot of emphasis on transformation and personal growth, so from the readings online I take the descriptions and find key words in them that end up answering the question I had in mind, so it works.

I recently came across a blog post on Adventures on the Dusken Path that goes into how each tarot deck has its own spirit, and even how to confirm what the deck is best used for, along with some other helpful information.  I decided to give the layout she posted a try, and am recording the results in hopes that I can later either confirm or deny them.

The layout is five cards, the left three describing the personality of the deck, the fourth middle card what the deck is good at, and the fifth card on the left what the deck is not good at.  Backstory: I originally wanted to use these cards as a way to communicate with my ancestors, and I communicated that with them.  However I may have only used it once or twice, and then left them to the side for a while before coming back to them recently.  I wasn’t sure, then, whether my ancestors would still be using this to communicate or whether it turns out that the spirit of the deck itself is the one doing the talking, so you’ll see how this plays out in the spread.

Image

The results of the spread.

You’ll notice that there are two extra cards in the bottom right corner.  I’ll explain those in a minute.

First three cards on the left: As soon as I turned over the Osiris card it was like BAM!  Ancestors!  But me being the skeptic I am, I wanted to make sure it was really my ancestors and not the spirit of the cards themselves.  I mean, the next two are a little random if it’s not the ancestors.

The next card is the dove card, which is the initiate, and symbolizes innocence and trust.  It acts as a “bridge between humanity and the ancient past.”  The description also says it’s “time for something new” and to “begin again,” “open to new information.”  It also says “an outer teacher may appear to guide you on your path.”  Sounds like nobody has really asked my ancestors before about…well, anything.  Can I really be the only one who nods to their existence and offers them what I can every once in a while?  The outer teacher bit seems to be pretty meaningful, since I have been recently reading about astral travel and if anyone would guide me I’d think it would be my grandmother.  I had a special relationship with her until she passed away when I was a child, and I had never felt such pure love as the love she gave me.  However, hell no to the astral travel bit, it’s just way too complicated and I have enough complication in my life.

And now the third card: there is a bit about akashic yadda yadda, and the card itself is called Alchemy.  See what I mean?  Not really into that stuff.  Anyway the five elements are described as the most ancient of netjeru (netjeru?  I would probably say netjeri, since I don’t recall ever hearing about the elements themselves being worshipped as gods).  What heartens me is the description which says “If you have pulled this card, you have all the tools you need to co-create your reality.”  My akhu are back, and well-equipped to boot!  The card talks about how these ancient netjeru will help me to accomplish my goals in accordance with my divine purpose.  Now if only I knew what the the heck that was.

On to the middle fourth card, what the deck is good at: I pulled Sekhmet.  Hrm.  The captions underneath read “Transformation: Fierce Compassion – Healer.”  I don’t really have a strong relationship with this netjeret, but I’ve heard she can be a loving hard-ass.  The book paints a different picture of her; as Ptah’s consort, she “is the spark that ignites the process of manifestation,” and is also a “protector of truth and justice.”  But rather than drink the blood of the naughty, she heals the dual nature within with fierce compassion.  She is “always truthful in matters of your personal growth” and “helps us to shape-shift into our future selves,” that is she “sows … the seeds of your higher sacred purpose.”  What is with this sacred purpose stuff again?  Anyway, I think the most important thing I took away from the description is that she will help me to grow “the seeds of my soul’s purpose rather than your ego’s agenda.”  This tells me that first, this deck will tell me the truth, and will show the future of what can be if I don’t get in my own way.  It also does so compassionately, and really, it’s hard to be doom and gloom with this deck, because it always spins things in a positive light.  Now, that can be a good and bad thing.  With this deck there’s no room to see a negative future, only recognizing that all things are in transit.

And that brings me to the fifth card: Khepera, with the subtitle Cycles of Change: Planetary Guardian, Spiral Dancer.  This card is described as a “guardian and protector of planet Earth and all its creatures.”  Well, since these are my Akhu, I don’t suspect that they’d have much vested interest in the personal growth of other random people cohabiting this fine planet with me.  This also makes me think that it won’t be much help with anything to do with past lives, since Khepera is related to cycles of time and the turning of the ages.  Or maybe my more ancient akhu will be useless whenever it comes to questions of technology?  Who knows?  To be honest this card didn’t really give me a lot of information.

As for the two extra cards, well, after being confused by that last card, I was wondering whether these really were my akhu speaking, so I asked for one more card to describe the spirit in the cards.  I chose two, though, because I was drawn to two of them, and didn’t want to choose one or the other.

The first one is called Sacred Purpose (there’s that phrase again!) and is a composite of a bunch of different netjeru, which already tells me that there are multiple spirits within the cards trying to tell me that YES WE’RE HERE DAGNABBIT WOULDJA STOP DOUBTING US ALREADY.  OK maybe not in that tone of voice but I do get the feeling that yeah, it’s them.  Especially when it described Thoth as a serpent offering the fruit of wisdom and eternal life from the ancient tree.  Talk about clue-by-four.

The last card was Ma’at, with the obvious subtitle of Truth, as well as radiance and balance.  Well, since it’s pretty typical to describe the akhu as the radiant deadthis also confirms it.  And the truth subtitle makes me laugh, because it’s like, yes, we are really, really telling you the truth that we are here.  She is described as residing over the Hall of Mirrors (not quite sure if this is historically accurate?) and so this card is best to see one’s self clearly, thus the “yes we are here, is it clear now?” thing.  And another welcome surprise: the description says “in your outer world, she may be restoring a greater balance and creating order in the wake of some chaotic situation that has occurred in your life.”  It’s nice to know that these Akhu are doing their best to make my life easier- but something just occurred to me.  The chaotic situation I’m in now is my being uprooted from what I once called home in the wake of my mother’s passing away.  Perhaps this is her way of saying she’s here too, she’s become a shining one, she’s with my other akhu, and she still wants to be a part of my life.  Oh, mom.  I can’t even begin to describe how that touches me.

So, as a novice reader, I think I didn’t do too poorly this time.  In short- my akhu are happy to use these cards to guide me in good directions, leading me to a future where my personal growth develops in the best way.  However, they’re not really willing to check things out for other people.  That’s fine and dandy with me.  Does anyone have any different interpretations of the cards from what I’ve intuited?

Written by Bastemhet

July 9, 2012 at 3:55 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that deck! I have been considering getting it myself, but I have so many different decks, I hesitate to add yet another to my collection when I only regularly use a couple.

    SpiderGoddes

    July 9, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    • If you don’t mind working within the Shamanic/alchemy/transformation context, it’s really not a bad deck. I typically will just grab the keywords for what I’m asking, as well as work off of the information I already know about the netjeru. Try using the online version to see if you like it.

      Bastemhet

      July 9, 2012 at 4:17 pm

  2. I’ve always felt that the deck (which I do own) is pretty much all about personal growth, which is why I’ve had some problems with it in the past. Still, I’m pretty sure I could use them to communicate with Sekhmet, which would be awesome. I do find it interesting that everyone keeps talking about them in some vein or another when I’m around. I’ll have to think about that…

    I can’t wait to use this spread for my Rider-Waite deck! I love K’s ideas!

    Aubs Tea

    July 9, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    • I like the deck for what it is, but I really wish there were a Kemetic themed deck that didn’t also have some kind of other spiritual/philosophical agenda attached to it.

      As for using them to communicate with Sekhmet, doesn’t sound like a bad idea! I swear, I feel like using them has been like using an akhu-phone or something.

      Bastemhet

      July 10, 2012 at 8:00 am

      • The only decks without spiritual/philosophical agendas tend to be more Rider-Waite based Tarot. And even then, it’s iffy. It really does suck because I’d just like the imagery with a standard “THIS IS WHAT IT MEANS” association.

        Aubs Tea

        July 10, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      • I actually wanted to check out the myths and netjeru associations and symbolism etc. etc. to create my own Kemetic Oracle deck, but hell, I guess we can just add that to the growing pile of “stuff I´d like to do but have no practical way of accomplishing” pile. :p

        Bastemhet

        July 10, 2012 at 3:10 pm

      • I have a huge pile of the exact same thing.

        Aubs Tea

        July 10, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  3. […] Introducing: My Anubis Oracle Deck by Per Bastemhet. Share this:FacebookEmailTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Posted in Deities & Lwa, Divination, The Spiritual Turnpike | Tagged divination, OTHERS […]

  4. Reblogged this on The Darkness in the Light.

    thefirstdark

    July 10, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  5. […] Introducing: The Anubis Oracle Deck by Bastemhet. […]

  6. […] offered in the book that came with the deck called “Sacred Purpose.”  Remember in my last post how I kept wondering what the heck sacred purpose meant?  Well with this spread, my ancestors […]

  7. […] for her, since I’ve dedicated my other deck to speaking with my akhu. (you can read about that here)  If I don’t end up doing all of the cards, I’d like to get through the Major Arcana, at […]

  8. […] purchased this deck months ago and also did a divination using the same spread that I used with my Anubis Oracle Deck, but for some reason never got around to fully interpreting […]


Leave a Reply

