Per Bastemhet

SET’S FIERY BALLS, I’VE BEEN DIVINED!

with 15 comments

Drumroll, please…

I’m a daughter of Bast, beloved of Seshat-Nit-Nebthet.

*clap track*

Is there anybody surprised?  No?  Didn’t think so. Smile with tongue out

I promise to make a more head-type post like I’m accustomed to (and we knew that that was coming too) but for now I’d just like to rejoice.

I also had some messages from my Akhu and there were generally good tidings.  I am happy to have some communication from them and look forward to developing my relationship with them more.  I’m also going to have to look into those other aspects of Seshat as I have no experience and little knowledge of these other netjeru.

NEKHTET!  Thank you to Rev. Siuda!

Written by Bastemhet

August 9, 2011 at 8:04 pm

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations!

    SatSekhem

    August 9, 2011 at 9:51 pm

  2. Nekhtet!!

    My internet is down until next week so my phone is my only link to the web and its limited as far as capabilities so I’m sending my “nekhtet” here rather than through e-mail 😉

    Nekhtet again and congrats!

    ZabetRa

    August 10, 2011 at 12:52 am

    • Thanks ZabetRa, that’s quite nice of you to go to all the trouble! I don’t know how I’d survive without internet, I like being plugged in…like the Matrix! INSTANT KNOWLEDGE!

      Bastemhet

      August 10, 2011 at 6:00 am

  3. Congrats. I’m amused that I’d already started following your blog before this post – saw your divination on the email announcement & was amazed by its similarity to mine. Daughter of Bast, beloved of Nit-Nebthet-Seshat here. 🙂
    Nekhtet!

    ZoeMelissa

    August 10, 2011 at 5:06 am

    • Hi ZoeMelissa, thanks for following and the congrats! Funnily enough I got a congrats by e-mail of someone who’s a daughter of Bast and beloved of Nebthet-Nit-Seshat. I wonder how often this trio turns up…? You’ll have to let me know how you experience your beloved, I have no idea how to approach the aspected version of Seshat, but I look forward to getting to know her better.

      Bastemhet

      August 10, 2011 at 6:04 am

  4. How interesting! The three of us should get together and discuss things! 🙂

    I don’t feel like I have a lot I could coherently talk about at the moment, though. I’m just getting a solid practice together again after Walking in the Desert for two years post the breakup with my long-term partner. I feel like I’d need to spend more time in shrine first!

    But I suppose I perceive Nit as a goddess of kingship who pushes me to personal sovereignty (http://www.fluentself.com/blog/stuckification/sovereignty-101/) – to take responsibility for my stuff. Much like the way my school’s motto was Potens Sui (Self Mastery/Self Discipline) with a figure of Minerva/Athena, I suppose.

    I had a quiet sort of relationship with Nebthet before being divined, and I still feel Her from time to time. Funnily, since I’m a writer and involved in publishing, I haven’t had much of a nudge from Seshat, although I’m very interested in Her of the three faces.

    ZoeMelissa

    August 10, 2011 at 6:45 am

    • I invited her to come chip in if she feels like it. 🙂

      Another dark night of the soul, huh? Sorry you had to go through that, I know it’s tough to keep up practice when hard life events hit. I have to keep reminding myself that part of feeding your ka is keeping in touch with Netjer to help pass through those tough times. I’m glad you’re back into practice again, that tells me you got through the hardest part. 🙂

      I REALLY like that link you dropped! That’s interesting that you connect to her in a pragmatic way. I feel like I’m still barely understanding all the mystical woo woo stuff just to get to the meat of Seshat. I don’t doubt I’ll get there eventually but I’m going to try and remember to enjoy the process too. Check this out: http://web.archive.org/web/20080630031305/http://seshat.org/seshat/page5.html Now I’m wondering how exactly these three aspects plan to develop themselves in my life, and what lesson I’m supposed to get from this. Time to (magical word!) research.

      Bastemhet

      August 11, 2011 at 10:55 am

      • Oh, grand.

        Yeah … Everything that wasn’t an immediate aspect of Keeping Me Sane fell by the wayside. I was meditating every night in the beginning, and then I moved to places where I couldn’t really keep a shrine or altar, and I didn’t have the wherewithal to restart the habits that meant I could make that part of my life again. I’ve moved house five times in the last two years. 😉 But I’ve come out of it on the other side stronger and more certain of doing what feeds my ka, as it were. So there’s been a lot of good to come out of the bad times.

        I find Havi (the blogger from the link) to be a bit of a modern sage. She’d definitely be one of my sebau, I think. 😉

        That’s a neat link. I think I might have read it many years ago. Maybe. Because that was Dave whatsisname’s site, wasn’t it? The one who did the music for the Kemetic podcast, when that still existed (Rev. Dave Dean, possibly?) But definitely good to read/reread. I have an Evernote account these days, which makes finding articles like this again for reference later SO much easier.

        I’m not sure if you’ve read Edward Butler’s Henadology? You may have linked to it elsewhere in this blog; in which case, forgive me. I am sleep-deprived today. If not, he’s put together an encyclopaedia of the Names (he said it was for a book commissioned by a publisher that wound up not going ahead): http://henadology.wordpress.com/theology/netjeru/
        The Seshat page is here: http://henadology.wordpress.com/theology/netjeru/seshat/

        I LOVE research. It’s one of my favourite spiritual activities!

        Oh, closing rambly anecdote. When I was a young teenager, I read *Kalki* by Gore Vidal. It was the first exposure I had to the gods of India, I think. It’s occurred to me since (and no doubt to others) that Nit-Seshat-Nebthet reflects a similar balance to Brahma-Vishnu-Shiva: the creator, the preserver, the destroyer. Although Nebthet may not be a destroyer in the manner of Shiva, she will be the one to switch out the lights when the party’s over, so to speak.

        ZoeMelissa

        August 12, 2011 at 6:32 am

      • Ugh…yeah, can be tough with all the moving. I´ve had to move three times in the last year but thankfully I only had to bring a couple trunks with me. I don´t know what I would´ve done if it were ALL my stuff. Made me realize just how much crap I don´t really need I keep around me. But my precious books…I can´t help it! :p I’m glad to hear you used it as a learning experience. I feel like I learned the most from my stupidest mistakes.

        I think the link is for one of the clergy, Son of Seshat. I think we might be talking about the same people. THANK YOU FOR EVERNOTE! I bought myself OneNote for the same kind of purpose but I never end up using it. I like the idea of keeping everything on the internet so that I can access it anywhere. I’m going to start an account right away! Is there any way to share accounts? I’d love to pool resources. 🙂 I’ve recently encountered Henadology not too long ago but I plan on making a post with all the “best” online resources I’ve found so far, and was definitely going to include it. Given you’re a fellow research nerd I’m sure you will have heard of most my resources anyway. 😉

        I quite agree with your analogy. My initial conception of this thrice aspected goddess phenomenon is that Seshat is the preserver/timekeeper/archiver, Nit the demiurge/creative potential/things which are yet to be, and Nebthet the end of the Created’s destiny. These are just my initial crude reactions, but in a post later on I’d like to explore these relationships and see if my intuition can jumble the symbols around and find other insights.

        Do you happen to have an account on the HoN boards? I’m under the same name there. 😀

        Bastemhet

        August 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm

  5. Yep, pretty sure that’s the same guy.

    I just logged into the web interface of EverNote, and you can share notebooks! I’d probably create a new one for that since I’m a Graeco-Egyptian polytheist as well as a beginning Hermetist and tend to put all my research for that in the one spot. 🙂

    Ooh, I look forward to seeing your research post. Remember I’m a couple of years out of touch in that regard, so I may not have heard of them all!

    My initial conception of this thrice aspected goddess phenomenon is that Seshat is the preserver/timekeeper/archiver, Nit the demiurge/creative potential/things which are yet to be, and Nebthet the end of the Created’s destiny

    Yes, yes, yes! I look forward to reading your post teasing this out.

    I’m on the HoN fora, under the same nick as here. I’m not on them as often as I’d like, since most of my internet time is at work, and I feel … weird accessing it there. Also I don’t always have the time there!

    ZoeMelissa

    August 13, 2011 at 7:29 am

    • Just created my own Evernote but I´m still trying to figure out the gadgets. One of the things I downloaded didn´t work and it won´t let me uninstall either. Hate when that happens. I´m very picky when it comes to controlling my beloved laptop.

      Gotchu on HoN. ❤ I don't always use it either (actually float between that forum as well as KIN and the Kemetic SIG at The Cauldron).

      Bastemhet

      August 13, 2011 at 12:21 pm

      • I just use the browser plug-in myself. I haven’t used the Windows or Linux (if there is one) desktop client. It’s sucky that it’s playing up for you. Annoying.

        I’m trying to spend more time on the forum. We’ll see how that goes!

        ZoeMelissa

        August 13, 2011 at 1:11 pm

  6. Just a note – first off, congratulations again on your RPD and all that jazz. Second of all, I love the title of this post! 😀

    Sobeq

    September 5, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    • Thank you Sobeqsenu! I think you were there for my naming ceremony too, I was given the name EmkhenetBast. Em hotep and thanks, I think Set might find it amusing. 🙂

      Bastemhet

      September 5, 2011 at 3:18 pm


Leave a Reply

