Per Bastemhet

Wep Ronpet: The year of change

with 4 comments

Yesterday I did Senut for the first time, as well as the heka working of slaying Apep in the ceremony provided in the KO forums.  It went well, with an outpouring of the heart to Netjer (I had no idea I had so much to say) and spontaneous singing (can’t remember what lyrics I made up now).  It was good to be bathed in the presence of the divine, and something that I truly think I was lacking.

I think this is a good time to write about why I’ve decided to actively participate in HoN instead of only doing reconnaissance there.  It’s been almost a year and a half since I first took the beginner’s course and stayed on as a Remetj (back before the re-ordering of Year 19 and the definitions of what someone should believe to become a Remetj).  I was mainly only active at the Reformed Kemeticism SIG at the Cauldron, and that served its purpose for a while.  However most of my practice has only been research without actually doing anything.  I tend to get bogged down easily with Stuff I Have To Do, and becoming pregnant, being jobless, and being an American expat living in Spain has helped to add to that stress.  However I see this new Kemetic year as a chance to start afresh, to get rid of my lazyness and start doing.  I promised myself I would do Senut once a week, and I think I can do that, thanks to the support of my boyfriend.  It was thanks to him that even though we spent hours at his mother’s house celebrating her birthday last night that I ended up purifying myself and doing the celebration anyway from 1-2 AM.  I know it’s technically the next day but since the location is based in America, it was still Aug.3.  That might not sound too late but when you’re pregnant and used to sleeping at a certain time it can be very tough.

I have been examining a lot of my beliefs and found that what I believe is not so different from what KO dogma espouses.  And I think being a member of the new Kemetic Interfaith Network and the Kemetic SIG and the House forums will sate that craving I’ve had of community.  I hope to contribute to the community and also allow my practice to grow as I grow this baby. 

I also plan on doing Ritual Parent Divination.  Ironically, mine will be the first of the new year.  I have had to ask myself whether I can trust Rev. Siuda as a spiritual teacher, and the answer is yes.  And it has made me aware of who I am- I naturally don’t trust any authority figures simply for being authority figures.  I had to talk to her and explore her understandings to come to trust them.  But even more, I trust that the netjeru will communicate with me what they want to communicate no matter what the medium.  I have had a calling saying that doing this will be the next step in my spiritual evolution, and I’m excited to greet new netjeru as well as strengthen my prior personal devotion to Bast.  This is a formative time, especially since I’ve had to change to prepare myself to be a mother as well.  I ask the netjeru to give me their blessings, and I hope they give their blessings to all the children of the faith as well.

Written by Bastemhet

August 4, 2011 at 10:17 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just wanted to say I just found your blog and it is wonderful. I went through the same process of learning to trust Rev. Siuda myself, I went so far as going and having my RPD in person just so I could see it and analyze it. It is always good to be skeptical, and it is always good to be pleasantly surprised.

    Just some DUDE

    August 4, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    • Em hotep and thanks for the compliment! Skeptical thinking has kept me on my toes, but once synchronicity knocks on the door, there´s really no turning back.

      Bastemhet

      August 4, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  2. It’s always so liberating when you finally decide on what you’re going to do. And I can’t wait to hear about the divination thing that you’re going to have done. I always find it kind of fascinating to see who gets what deities, you know?

    SatSekhem

    August 5, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    • I agree! It’s nice to see that finally I’m getting some momentum in my spiritual life. I know that people in KO tend to put their lineups in their sigs, and to me it doesn’t make too much of a difference because I don’t generally know them so I can’t really tell what kind of influence they are in their life, but I do plan on making a post about the experience and will reflect on each respective netjer within. I remember being worried that Bast might now show up, but I think it’s beside the point. Nobody’s impeding me from worshiping her. 🙂

      Bastemhet

      August 7, 2011 at 11:56 am


Leave a Reply

