Per Bastemhet

Purification 10

leave a comment »

For an explanation of this series, read the introduction here.

Hail Bright-Flame, coming forth from Ptah’s temple in Mennefer (Hwt-ka-Ptah in Memphis), I do not dislike myself.

This purification addresses Sekhmet by her epithet Bright-Flame.  Rev. Siuda says that the verb keni-i can be translated not only as self-dislike but also as self-pity or being too hard on one’s self.

Personally one of the things that makes me hard on myself right now is that I feel somewhat inadequate in the worship that I do.  I constantly want to do more, but I also think that devotion to study of how to do things properly is very important to honor the netjeru in the right way.  My compromise is to do the best with the information that I have right now, and realize that everyone begins somewhere, and sometimes our goals are not always attainable.  I trust that Bast will bring me not just to what I want, but to what I need.

In this purification I will remember that I am making good time on my path and that things will come to me “in their time.”

Written by Bastemhet

August 21, 2010 at 1:52 am

Leave a Reply

